The Tico Post

Connecting Minds Through Words

Health Science

2023 Nobel Prize for Medicine Jointly Awarded to Katalin Kariko, Drew Weissman

2023 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine: Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman shared the prize for medicine in recognition of their contributions to the creation of COVID-19-effective mRNA vaccines.

Katalin Kariko, Drew Weissman

Weissman and Kariko’s research, according to the Nobel Committee, “fundamentally changed our understanding of how mRNA interacts with our immune system.”

“They have helped to accelerate vaccine research at a previously unheard-of rate amid one of the biggest risks to modern human health. The vaccinations have avoided serious illness in many more people and saved millions of lives, according to the Nobel Committee.

One of the most renowned prizes is the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. It was created by Alfred Nobel, a Swedish inventor of dynamite, as a way to recognise persons who have made remarkable contributions to medical research.

Emil von Behring received the first Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1901 for his groundbreaking research on serum treatment for diphtheria. The research of Behring served as the basis for the creation of vaccinations and immunotherapy.

At the age of 32, Frederick Banting, known for discovering insulin, holds the distinction of being the youngest person to receive the Nobel Prize in Medicine. Millions of people with this autoimmune condition benefitted from his ground-breaking work in the field of diabetes control.

In 2022, Svante Pääbo was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine for his research on the DNA of extinct hominins and the history of humanity.

One of the six Nobel Prizes created by Alfred Nobel’s will is the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. On Tuesday, the Nobel Prize in Physics will be given; on Wednesday, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry; on Thursday, the Nobel Prize in Literature; on Friday, the Nobel Prize in Peace; and on Monday, the Nobel Prize in Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine is given each year to people or groups who have made outstanding contributions to medicine via ground-breaking discoveries, novel therapies, or the disclosure of previously unrecognised details about how the human body functions.

Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *